Chakras FAQ – Best Questions and Answers

Here’s a list of most commonly asked questions and answers about chakras, their meaning and functions. We give you short and precise answers to your inquiries. To get more in-depth info about a specific question or topic, follow the links given in the answers.

According to the Vedic scriptures originating from Hinduism and also based on Buddhist tradition, the chakras are energy centres which exist in an energy body of a person. As such, the chakras are not physical but exist in more subtle energy fields. Besides the traditional teachings also many modern healing and self-improvement techniques are based on the philosophy of chakras. The practitioners of such methods will tell you that chakras are real. Most people can feel the effects and benefits of opening the chakras on a physical, emotional, and energetic level.

The name ‘Chakra’ itself comes from the Sanskrit language. The understanding and science of chakras originates from Hindu and Buddhist traditions. However, other cultures have very similar concepts and knowledge – some of which are Chinese Taoism, Tibetan Buddhism and Japanese Buddhism.

When we talk about chakra systems, we usually speak of 7 chakras or 12 chakras as the number of primary energy nodes in our body. However, there are many smaller chakras, most prominent being positioned in our hands and feet, and even smaller ones all over our body, lying along the pathways of the body energy channels.

The seven chakra colors – as defined and accepted by western esoteric practices – are the following:

  1. Root Chakra – Red Color
  2. Sacral Chakra – Orange Color
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Yellow Color
  4. Heart Chakra – Green Color
  5. Throat Chakra – Blue Color
  6. Third Eye Chakra – Indigo Color
  7. Crown Chakra – Violet Color

Aura colors are closely tied to the functioning of the chakras. The colors of chakras are reflected in a human aura. This is an energy field which surrounds our bodies and is projected through the chakras. If our chakras are open and balanced, our aura will be radiant and well-balanced.

  • Generally, vivid colors of the aura with no ‘holes’ in it mean that a person is healthy and vital.
  • Dark-colored aura with ‘holes’ and blemishes mean that the person is most likely ill and has a low energy vibration.

Chakras can become blocked for many reasons, some of the most prominent being:

  • Emotional trauma
  • Stress
  • Not enough physical exercise
  • Not enough connection with nature
  • Unhealthy diet
  • Unhealthy habits and addictions

There are also other causes for chakra blockages. However, if you manage to attain discipline by avoiding the listed matters, you are well on the way of keeping your chakras and energy healthy.

The most common methods for opening your chakras are the following:

  1. Chakra Meditation
  2. Practice of Yoga
  3. Breathing Exercises
  4. Crystal Healing (Healing with Chakra Stones)
  5. Sound Healing (Chakra Frequencies)
  6. The practise of Mudras (Hand Gestures)
  7. Mantra Meditation
  8. Chakra Diet
  9. Color Therapy

Other methods, especially the ones involving exercise, meditation and connection with nature, are just as well beneficial for opening your energy channels and balancing your chakras.

Chakra meditation is a meditation technique with a focus on your chakras and energy flow through your system of energy channels called the nadis.
Chakra meditation usually includes relaxation techniques, breathing exercises, visualization of energy flow and colors inside your energy body and can be assisted by various sound frequencies such as binaural beats or isochronic tones for chakra meditation.

Chakra cleansing is a process of using different techniques for opening, balancing and healing your chakras. When performing chakra cleansing, we focus on de-blocking the chakras and releasing the heavy and stale energies.
Chakra cleansing stimulates the flow of the vital energy known as “prana” or “chi” throughout the main seven chakras and through the complete chakra system. This results in improving and energetic field and reflects in the overall well-being of a person.

Kundalini energy is also known as Prana, Chi or Ki. This is a universal vibrating energy which is also an integral part of all living beings and organisms.
When named ‘Kundalini’ we usually speak of the Chi energy in the human body which flows through the Ida, Pingala and Sushumna energy channels. These lines co-relate with the seven major chakras and are the most prominent energy channels in the human body.
Kundalini awakening is known as an event of the energy rising from the Root chakra to the Crown chakra through the central energy channel called the Sushumna.

Chakra stones, healing crystals and gemstones are used for aligning, healing and balancing your chakras.
Each stone has its unique properties which make them appropriate for balancing one or more specific chakras. Some stones can be used on all chakras.
Chakra stones are used in a way that they are placed on the locations of the chakras during meditation. You can also wear them as pendants or other types of jewellery.

Some stones are related to specific chakras, and some can be used on more or all chakras. Here’s the list of the most common gemstones used for specific chakras:

  1. Root Chakra Stones: ruby, red jasper, granite, hematite, red coral, red tiger eye, smoky quartz, onyx, garnet
  2. Sacral Chakra Stones: tiger eye, golden topaz, orange tourmaline, yellow jade, hyacinth, fire opal, corals, orange aventurine, sunstone
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra Stones: tiger eye, citrine, yellow jasper, yellow calcite, amber, yellow serpentine, chrysoberyl
  4. Heart Chakra Stones: emerald, chrysoprase, green tourmaline, rose quartz, jade, peridot, malachite, green quartz, green spinel
  5. Throat Chakra Stones: aquamarine, blue topaz, chalcedony, blue tourmaline, turquoise, lapis lazuli
  6. Third Eye Chakra Stones: blue sapphire, opal, blue tourmaline, lapis lazuli, sodalite, blue agate, blue azurite, blue dumortierite quartz, blue iolite, blue tanzanite
  7. Crown Chakra Stones: diamond, amethyst, quartz, rainbow obsidian, spinel, transparent tourmaline, azurite

A seed mantra is the main mantra of a specific chakra. In Vedic tradition, the seed mantra is called ‘Bija mantra’.
Mantra is a word which is expressed and vocalized as a vibrating sound. Each seed mantra is a sound which vibrates at specific frequencies which help us release the blocked energies, relax the body and free the mind.
The word Mantra in Sanskrit means ‘liberate the mind’, ‘man’ means the mind, and ‘tra’ means ‘liberation’.

Seed mantras of the seven major chakras are the following:

  1. Root Chakra Mantra: LAM ( लं laṃ )
  2. Sacral Chakra Mantra: VAM ( वं vaṃ )
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra: RAM ( रं raṃ )
  4. Heart Chakra Mantra: YAM (यं yaṃ )
  5. Throat Chakra Mantra: HAM ( हं haṃ )
  6. Third Eye Chakra Mantra: AUM (ॐ aum/om)
  7. Crown Chakra Mantra: AH ( अह् ah)