The Chakras

The Chakra

Through our chakras we connect to the world of energies and frequencies around us. Each chakra is attuned to receive and transmit a specific spectrum of frequencies, which we perceive as energies and re-interpret them with our emotions and rational mind.

A well a balanced chakra is in-tune with the external energies and can process the full vibrational spectrum of its range without interference (blockages).

When all the chakras are balanced and in tune our perception of reality is much clearer because our view becomes guided by energy and not so much by the mind. We begin flowing through life and the life energy flows within us.

That’s when we reconnect to the nature, return to our natural learning path, work our karmic obligations, become flexible and open to changes and new life challenges. We develop our intuition, we walk with ease and radiate with positive energy.

There are many benefits of working on your body energy development and the best way to experience the change by yourself is through practice of chakra balancing and healing techniques.

You can find all the basic facts about the seven major chakras below. Take a look at our tutorials and exercises as well as the most common techniques for each chakra balancing – from root to the crown.

What is a Chakra?

A chakra is an energy center in our body. It is a kind of a vortex, exchanging the energy with our surroundings.

The seven chakras in the human body are a part of a connected system of seven major and numerous minor energy transforming centers. There are 114 chakras in a human body, which are connected through an energy network called the ‘nadis’. There are 72.000 nadi channels which connect all the energy vortexes together and are forming the complete human energy body.

What does the Word "Chakra" mean?

‘Chakra’ is a word for ‘wheel,’ ‘circle’ or ‘cycle’ and is primarily a Hindu concept. However, many other traditions have similar concepts but use different terminology.

Originating from sanskrit, the word ‘Chakra’ can be translated more directly as ‘a spinning energy wheel’.

Word 'Chakra' in Sanskrit Script

Word ‘Chakra’ written in  Sanskrit script.

A highly skilled person who can see auras, can perceive chakras as vortexes of spinning energy. During chakra meditation we can often feel chakras spinning as vortexes, or visualize them as such with our inner vision.

These centers which exist in the energetic dimension have a conical shape which extends and opens up to our front and back.

The main seven chakras, as is adopted from Hinduist belief, are aligned along the vertical axis from the base of the spine to the top of the head.

Chakras are linked to each other through energy channels called Ida, Pingala and Shushumna. These are the main lines in a complex system of energy lines, called the Nadis.

What is the Function of Chakras?

The main function of chakras is they connect with the energies of our surrounding and transmit these energies to our bodies and vice versa.

This process has a direct impact on our physical, psychological, emotional, mental and spiritual perception. It affects what we perceive, how we feel and ultimately what we think.

Chakras over Man Body Silhouette

Another function of the seven chakras, as well as the smaller ones, is to store karma (energy accumulated in past life experiences and in our current life experience).

Activating and balancing the chakras can trigger an energy transformation within us, which allows karma to be ‘burnt up.’ This means that bonds to ego-driven actions are being loosened and we become more in tune with universal energies. Once this has occurred to some degree, a we get on the way of becoming liberated from the karmic law and we step on the path of fully empowering ourselves as natural human beings.

Each of the seven chakras has its own vibration and serves a specific purpose.

Chakras are also considered to be openings to different internal and external dimensions. They are associated with body organs, emotional states, levels of consciousness, colors, planets, natural elements, frequencies, and mythical deities,  and have different meanings and aspects.

Each chakra relates to specific color of the visible color spectrum – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.

Clearing and opening these energy centers is referred to as “chakra balancing” or “chakra healing”. This process can lead to a profound transformation of our emotional, physical, and spiritual state.

With little effort invested in balancing your chakras, you can significantly improve your overall well-being.

Anatomy of the Chakra Body

Chakras reside within the aura, where different human energy bodies (physical, spiritual, etheric, mental) are brought together and form these cone-shaped energy wheels or vortexes.

Each vortex is intimately linked with each other via the nervous system called Nadis. The main Nadi is called the Sushumna and goes straight up the spine from base to top of the head. Around the Sushumna, there are two intertwining Nadi channels, called the Ida and Pingala. These flow through each chakra and bring energy to these centers.

Diagram of the nadi channels and chakras in the human body:

Diagram of Ida, Pingala and Shushumna Channels

1. The Muladhara Chakra. 
1a. The Mooladhar. 
2. The Svadhisthana Chakra. 
3. The Manipura Chakra. 
3a. The Void. 
4. The Anahata Chakra. 
5. The Vishuddhi Chakra. 
6. The Ayna Chakra. 
7. The Sahasrara Chakra. 
A. Kundalini. 
B. Left channel (Ida Nadi). 
C. Central channel (Sushumna Nadi). 
D. Right channel (Pingala Nadi). 
E. Spirit. 
F. Ego. 
G. Superego.

When energy flows freely through Ida and Pingala channels, it allows our Kundalini, many times referred to as ‘the sleeping serpent’ to awaken and stem from the root chakra to the crown through Shushumna channel. Such occurrence is known as ‘Kundalini awakening’ and is one of the most profound spiritual experiences.

Learn more about another chakra ...

Thanks for reading and supporting our site!

Thank You!


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This