Aura Colors: What They Really Mean

Just like there are numerous potential aura colors, there are also numerous meanings that can be associated with those colors. Auras can range from nearly all parts of the visible light spectrum; from light to dark, and pale to vibrant.

Determining the meaning behind one’s aura color takes an individual who has a keen sense of awareness. These aura readers are able to not only see a person’s aura, but many times are also able to manipulate that energy as well (for healing purposes).

Aura Colors

Below is our guide covering all of the major aura colors as well as their associated meanings. Aura colors come in so many different frequencies/tones that it can be hard to create a list of “major colors,” but below are some of the more common colors seen in people.

Table of Contents


Someone who has a blue aura typically has the following qualities:

  • Cool, calm, and collected during high-pressure moments
  • Enjoys providing help to other living beings
  • Has a strong sense of intuition
  • Others often come to them for support

There are generally three different subsets of blue auras: royal, dark/cloudy, and light/sky blue. All three of these subcategories come with additional meanings. For example, a royal blue aura is associated with clairvoyance, spirituality, and generosity.

Light/sky blue auras are always gifted in communication and love to speak the truth. If one has a cloudy blue aura, it usually means that they’re unable to come to terms with a certain aspect of their life (or themselves).


The orange aura has an interesting set of associations. Most readers associate orange with a person’s reproductive organs, and that person’s emotional attachment to those parts of their body. There are three main subtypes of orange auras: bright, red-orange, and orange-yellow.

Bright orange represents someone who enjoys living life, has a high level of vitality, and is in overall good health. Red-orange is associated with confidence and personal power. Orange-yellow auras are tied to scientific minds, and those who have them typically enjoy detailed work and are known for their perfectionism.


One of the rarest (but important) aura colors is rainbow. Those with rainbow auras are typically healers, and very advanced (from a spiritual perspective). People who have rainbow auras are rumored to be vibrating on the same level as the 5th dimension (i.e heaven).

While rainbow auras are almost always incredibly bright, they can also come in two different subcategories; brilliant and/or pale.

  • Brilliant rainbow auras are the classic auras seen in healers and those on a spiritually higher plane of vibration.
  • Pale rainbow auras are typically seen in those who are on the cusp of total enlightenment (or those who are close to achieving a brilliant rainbow aura).


In direct contrast to rainbow auras, those who have black auras are defined by negative energy. While it’s often associated with negative energy/spirituality, black can also represent physical problems within the body.


One of the more multifaceted aura colors is that of green. Those who have a green aura are usually more nature-focused than others and enjoy helping other humans/animals. The reason behind this is that green is known in the healing world as the color associated with the heart and nature.

There are a few different subcategories of green auras; light green, forest, yellow-green, green-blue, and dark. All of them have different sets of meanings. While most have positive attributes, dark green represents jealousy and irresponsibility.


People who have red auras are known to be strong, reactionary, and powerful. This color represents passion and strength and can possess both negative and positive attributes.

Because red represents blood – which is the life force of all life – it can either attract energy or dispel it. There are five associated sub colors of red auras: pink, brilliant, dark, cloudy, and dark pink.

  • Pink – Represents artistic expression and vision, sensitivity, and love.
  • Brilliant – Sexuality, passionate, with a competitive edge.
  • Dark Pink – Immaturity and untrustworthiness coupled with dishonest behaviors.
  • Cloudy – Cloudy/clouded red represents an intense level of anger.
  • Dark Red – Extremely capable and able to survive in any type of situation.

The above list of aura colors isn’t anywhere near comprehensive. There are countless color types and subtypes, and auras can also change quite frequently.

Having your aura color read can provide you with more understanding of your thoughts, behaviors, traits, etc. Knowing more about aura color meanings can help you determine how to improve as an individual (and be a better overall human being).